Reputation level bonuses are what you get when you reach that level of reputation with a faction. These stack from 0 up, or 0 down, depending on your reputation level. These aren't listed in the game book as it is an optional component.
When you move into a settlement you don't roll for an encounter. There are no Settlement Encounters at this time.
When a faction grows they do so from each settlement they control, just as you have mentioned.
Hi there, quick question about stats: "max 15, including bonuses" is that only referring to the bonuses from backgrounds or ALL bonuses, like from weapons or protection?
That is the hard max for the stat, which includes all bonuses from any source. So if I have a base of 11, plus 1 from my background, plus 4 from my weapons and equipment, I would round down to 15 (from 16).
Hi! I've been having so much fun but I have a lot of questions and can't find a forum or something like that.
1. When you encounter a unique location, controlled by Raiders and enter that location, you do a faction encounter? or can you enter freely? (I know I could use the oracle for that, but I don't think you encounter only one enemy).
2. If you place a settlement at the border of the map, how do you control the territory gain? Do I need to expand the map?.
3. When rolling for contracts it states ONCE, does it means I can only roll for one contract each turn? or I can roll up to the max of the settlement each turn?
I'm working on a Discord for Sasquatch Games, games. Slow progress but coming soon!
1. If you have a neutral (0) or positive (1+) reputation with the raiders then you can enter freely!
2. If there is no space to place territory just ignore the remaining requirements.
3. The rules as written state contracts equal to the level of the settlement, plus 1, per Contract action. The Contract action can only be taken once per turn.
Hi, found your answer while browsing here after getting your fantastic game! Was a little surprised by the answer to question 3 about the contracts: The rules are not that clearly written imo. The settlement action overview the plural "find new contracts" and second paragraph under contracts also uses the plural "the player creates new contracts up to..." paragraph 3: "for each new contract added...." also implies it could be multiples.
So, if this is not intended I think it could be written a little bit clearer.
You're correct on the Contracts - I responded in the mindset of taking the Contracts action once per turn. You can fill contracts up to the total level of the settlement, plus 1, as long a you have contract space. I've correct my original response to reflect this.
I appreciate you pointing out the error in my original answer!
I have on-hand 50+ copies sitting in storage right now that I cannot send out due to a postal strike in Canada. I would love to get those to people and will take a look into an alternative shipping option. Keep an eye on your notifications as I'll make a general post about it if I have good news!
Hi Cody, a few questions about missions, if you don't mind clarifying some stuff :)
When rolling for location type, I guess the type that you roll dicates where you go in order to complete that mission. Do I have to identify an existing location on the map (that fullfills the distance requirement as well) to mark as the 'target' for the mission?
If so, what do I do if I'm trying to create a mission in the first settlement before I've even started exploring? In this situation, there are no locations on the map yet (except Settlements).
Delivery locations are always settlements owned by factions. When rolling for a destination you can only use results for locations owned by faction listed on your map. So, if I roll for Strand Society but they aren't on my map, I just roll again until the result is valid.
I see that the digital version of the game has missing headers for the Contract table, so I'll update that today. That might be where the confusion is coming from concerning how contracts and deliveries work.
Thanks for your response! Are we both talking about missions? (You made several references to Contracts in your response, and those are a different thing right?)
For missions, you roll for a location type. For example, you might roll 'Wastes' and then presumably your have to complete your mission by heading for a 'Wastes' location at the appropriate distance. My question was what if there are literally no location types beyond settlements currently represented on the map (i.e. you haven't left your starting settlement yet).
Apologies if I have misunderstood something! If that's the case - don't worry about it - no doubt I'll realise where I'm going wrong
Oh yeah, I totally misread your original comment. You are correct!
Missions require at least some locations to be revealed (the more the better). If you do have locations revealed but roll an invalid location type (as in it doesn't exist on your map), you are to roll again until a valid location results. Alternatively you can place the location based on the distance given for the mission to start doing the missions right away. I typically have new players explore the map a bit doing Contracts before taking on Missions as it helps to fill-in the map.
The "Enemy Type" for encounters includes results of "Mutants". I couldn't really find an explanation for these, since there is no enemy table for mutants. Is that supposed to be a faction encounter with the Mutant Alliance, and can only happen if that has gotten onto the map?
How does Contract generation work, should I roll once on the table and take the size, distance, target, and reward from that? But why would the "cargo size" then be a parameter for the reward. Or should I roll for each part separately? I also assume that when I take a contract I directly "get the cargo", and it counts against my cargo limit? When I roll up the contract, do I have to take it? And need to "discard" any that I can't/don't want, for the -1 reputation cost, "Contracts may be discarded at the cost of -1 Reputation with the Faction
that gave it." ? Or can I roll up contracts and choose, and only if I want to discard some later I loose reputation?
Mutants are the base Mutant Alliance enemy for the faction. X would be 0 for the modifier.
Roll for each column in Contract generation following the steps listed (Start Location [your current space], Size, Distance, Faction Target, Reward). I used cargo size (total cargo for the delivery) as the base reward value as more cargo to deliver gives more rewards, plus travelling further, etc. When you generate a contract it doesn't automatically get added to your current cargo or contracts, you choose if you want to take it at that time. That's why the Contract Table has so much info, you pick and choose if you want to take the contract right then and there. Contracts can be discarded to make room for more.
So, say you generate a contract with 5 cargo. The target is waaaaay on the other side of the map. You decide you cannot do it but you have no contract slots left on your Contract Table. You discard it, remove it from the table, and lose 1 reputation with the faction that gave it (the faction which space you were on when you generated it).
I've added the character sheet and other player aids to the "demo" section of the page. Send me an email (cody@sleepysasquatchgames.ca) and I'll get you a link to the digital copy you should have received via email a while back.
Hi there! Quick question. I was supposed to have access to the original Courier from the TTRPGs for Trans Rights in Texas bundle. As it's de-listed, I am unable to download it. Is there any way I could still get a copy? It sounds really interesting!
Thank you! POD is coming once all backers receive their professional prints in August/September of this year. I will send an email blast to everyone when the POD becomes available.
← Return to game
Comments
Log in with itch.io to leave a comment.
Hi, me again! After some play (fun!) some more questions popped up, I hope you don't mind!
On the faction tracker sheet there is a box for reputation level bonuses. I can't find those in the book, is that official or more like a houserule?
When I move into a settlement, on which table should I rule the travel encounter?
When a faction grows 1 or 2 hexes per settlement, I guess each settlement grows 1 or 2 hexes?
Reputation level bonuses are what you get when you reach that level of reputation with a faction. These stack from 0 up, or 0 down, depending on your reputation level. These aren't listed in the game book as it is an optional component.
When you move into a settlement you don't roll for an encounter. There are no Settlement Encounters at this time.
When a faction grows they do so from each settlement they control, just as you have mentioned.
Awesome! Thanks again!
Hi there, quick question about stats: "max 15, including bonuses" is that only referring to the bonuses from backgrounds or ALL bonuses, like from weapons or protection?
That is the hard max for the stat, which includes all bonuses from any source. So if I have a base of 11, plus 1 from my background, plus 4 from my weapons and equipment, I would round down to 15 (from 16).
Pew, OK, that frees up some equipment choices at least, because I was very lucky with my roll :)
Thanks for the quick answer!
Hi! I've been having so much fun but I have a lot of questions and can't find a forum or something like that.
1. When you encounter a unique location, controlled by Raiders and enter that location, you do a faction encounter? or can you enter freely? (I know I could use the oracle for that, but I don't think you encounter only one enemy).
2. If you place a settlement at the border of the map, how do you control the territory gain? Do I need to expand the map?.
3. When rolling for contracts it states ONCE, does it means I can only roll for one contract each turn? or I can roll up to the max of the settlement each turn?
I'm working on a Discord for Sasquatch Games, games. Slow progress but coming soon!
1. If you have a neutral (0) or positive (1+) reputation with the raiders then you can enter freely!
2. If there is no space to place territory just ignore the remaining requirements.
3. The rules as written state contracts equal to the level of the settlement, plus 1, per Contract action. The Contract action can only be taken once per turn.
Let me know if you have any other questions!
- Cody
Hi, found your answer while browsing here after getting your fantastic game! Was a little surprised by the answer to question 3 about the contracts: The rules are not that clearly written imo. The settlement action overview the plural "find new contracts" and second paragraph under contracts also uses the plural "the player creates new contracts up to..." paragraph 3: "for each new contract added...." also implies it could be multiples.
So, if this is not intended I think it could be written a little bit clearer.
Cheers!
You're correct on the Contracts - I responded in the mindset of taking the Contracts action once per turn. You can fill contracts up to the total level of the settlement, plus 1, as long a you have contract space. I've correct my original response to reflect this.
I appreciate you pointing out the error in my original answer!
Thank you!
Are there somehow other languages available? :)
A French and Polish translation are in progress. No ETA on them at this time.
Is there still a way to get a physical copy?
I have on-hand 50+ copies sitting in storage right now that I cannot send out due to a postal strike in Canada. I would love to get those to people and will take a look into an alternative shipping option. Keep an eye on your notifications as I'll make a general post about it if I have good news!
Sounds good, thanks.
Hi Cody, a few questions about missions, if you don't mind clarifying some stuff :)
When rolling for location type, I guess the type that you roll dicates where you go in order to complete that mission. Do I have to identify an existing location on the map (that fullfills the distance requirement as well) to mark as the 'target' for the mission?
If so, what do I do if I'm trying to create a mission in the first settlement before I've even started exploring? In this situation, there are no locations on the map yet (except Settlements).
Hey!
Delivery locations are always settlements owned by factions. When rolling for a destination you can only use results for locations owned by faction listed on your map. So, if I roll for Strand Society but they aren't on my map, I just roll again until the result is valid.
I see that the digital version of the game has missing headers for the Contract table, so I'll update that today. That might be where the confusion is coming from concerning how contracts and deliveries work.
Thanks for your response! Are we both talking about missions? (You made several references to Contracts in your response, and those are a different thing right?)
For missions, you roll for a location type. For example, you might roll 'Wastes' and then presumably your have to complete your mission by heading for a 'Wastes' location at the appropriate distance. My question was what if there are literally no location types beyond settlements currently represented on the map (i.e. you haven't left your starting settlement yet).
Apologies if I have misunderstood something! If that's the case - don't worry about it - no doubt I'll realise where I'm going wrong
Oh yeah, I totally misread your original comment. You are correct!
Missions require at least some locations to be revealed (the more the better). If you do have locations revealed but roll an invalid location type (as in it doesn't exist on your map), you are to roll again until a valid location results. Alternatively you can place the location based on the distance given for the mission to start doing the missions right away. I typically have new players explore the map a bit doing Contracts before taking on Missions as it helps to fill-in the map.
Great - that all makes total sense, cheers Cody!
Is there a character sheet for the Repacked edition?
Check the "Courier - Repacked (Character Sheets)" file in the 'Demo' section of the page.
Hi, I've got a few questions.
that gave it." ? Or can I roll up contracts and choose, and only if I want to discard some later I loose reputation?
Hey! Answers for you:
So, say you generate a contract with 5 cargo. The target is waaaaay on the other side of the map. You decide you cannot do it but you have no contract slots left on your Contract Table. You discard it, remove it from the table, and lose 1 reputation with the faction that gave it (the faction which space you were on when you generated it).
Hope that helps!
Thanks, that makes sense
Sorry to bother you, I preordered the physical version from the Kickstarter (and it looks great), but I don't know how to get the character sheet.
I've added the character sheet and other player aids to the "demo" section of the page. Send me an email (cody@sleepysasquatchgames.ca) and I'll get you a link to the digital copy you should have received via email a while back.
Just found it deep in my inbox! I'm completely an idiot, sorry.
Hi there! Quick question. I was supposed to have access to the original Courier from the TTRPGs for Trans Rights in Texas bundle. As it's de-listed, I am unable to download it. Is there any way I could still get a copy? It sounds really interesting!
Hi Abbles. Please send me an email at - cody@sleepysasquatchgames.ca and I'll arrange a copy for you.
- Cody
Congrats and Well done on the new edition. Just bought the upgrade coupon and love the new layout. Will take a closer look later!
Thanks, Melv! I hope that you enjoy the new system.
Congrats on the new version! Quick question - will this be making its way to drivethrurpg for pod?
Thank you! POD is coming once all backers receive their professional prints in August/September of this year. I will send an email blast to everyone when the POD becomes available.
Perfect, thanks! Almost added it on to my pledge, but had a flurry of game purchases this month and decided I had to draw the line ;)
I know that feeling. My pile of reading/to-play is getting too high!